Chief Dauda Adesola Ariyo chosen as the new Olu of Olorunsogo.

by Adabanija Kamorudeen

Chief Dauda Adesola Ariyo chosen as the new Olu of Olorunsogo.

The vacant stool of the Olu of Olorunsogo Dada estate in Egbedore South LCDA state of Osun is about to be filled as the warrant chiefs unanimously chose the current Ekerin of Olorunsogo Dauda Adesola Ariyo as the next king of the community following the demised of the third Olu of Olorunsogo His Royal Highness AbdulKareem Akanji Ilufemiloye 1 who died last year November 17th after six years on the throne.

The process to fill the vacant stool started since last year after the burial of the late Olu of Olorunsogo.

Five people are contending for the vacant stool namely (1) Chief Dauda Adesola Ariyo the current Ekerin of Olorunsogo (2) Chief Ogunwusi the current Agbaakin of Olorunsogo. (3) Chief Richard Adeniyi the current Akogun of Olorunsogo. (4) Hon Adebisi and finally (5) Mr Aderemi Wemimo.

Although all other contenders for the vacant stool have kicked against the nomination of chief Dauda Adesola Ariyo as the new Olu of Olorunsogo sighting faulty process as excuses but, the nomination papers of chief Dauda Adesola Ariyo have been forwarded to the state government of Osun for final approval having fulfilled all due process to that effect and the community is patiently waiting for the state ministry of local government and chieftaincy affair who is saddled with the responsibility of filling the stool to make the position known possibly next week Monday after the weekly state executive council meeting.


Chief Dauda Adesola Ariyo was installed as Ekerin of Olorunsogo in October 2004 by the late Okubanjo the second to ruled the community after the death of the first Baale of Olorunsogo Dada but chief Okubanjo got elevated to the status of Olu by the Timi of Ede who is the prescribed authority to the stool of Olorunsogo and coincidentally chief Dauda Adesola Ariyo will be 4th king of the community to tally with his current position as “Ekerin of Olorunsogo” now he will be the Fourth Olu of Olorunsogo when eventually his nomination is confirmed by the authority.

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

24 + = 28